AM Apple Scramble

It’s a milestone day, my first recipe done and my first official weight in (again) for weight watchers.

The weight in, was horrible, but expected. I am so ready for this!

The recipe was easy, fantastic  and I am completely satisfied.

It’s not the first recipe of the book (I wanna try to keep them in order) it’s the second. But I will be posting the first recipe next. It made more sense for me to do the breakfast recipe first and the snacky type recipe second. The taste tester this round is just me, the bf is at work and unable to test this one. I’m pretty sure though I will be making it again tomorrow for him to try though. Its pretty damn good!

THE RECIPE:

AM Apple Scramble

PER SERVING: (entire scramble) 242 calories, 1.75g fat, 655mg sodium, 42g carbs, 6.25g fiber, 15.5g sugar, 17.5g protein

(pretty well-rounded for breakfast eh?)

INGREDIENTS:

1 slice light white bread (I used whole wheat)

1/2 cup fat-free liquid egg substitute

2 tbls light vanilla soymilk

1/4 tsp. vanilla extract

1/2 tsp. cinnamon, or more to taste (I went with exacts and didn’t add more)

2 no-calorie sweetener packets (splenda was my choice)

2 dashes of salt, or more to taste (I like salt, might have used a bit more but wasn’t actually paying attention)

1 cup peeled and finely chopped apple (not sure i chopped it finely enough)

3 tbls. old-fashioned oats

DIRECTIONS:

Toast bread. Set aside to cool. (My first dilemma, I don’t have a toaster. I improvised and toasted it in a pre-heated dry skillet. I think it turned out “toasty” enough)

In a bowl, combine egg substitute, soymilk, vanilla extract, cinnamon, sweetener, and salt. Stir in apple and oats. Set aside. (So, I didn’t read ahead and just kind of wasn’t paying that much attention. I chopped and peeled the apple first put it in the bowl and then put the rest of the ingredients on top of the apple and then stirred. Not sure it really made/makes that big of a difference, oops)

 

I cheated and used this apple peeler and corer to make this super easy

 

 

All ingredients combined minus the toasted bread.

 

Roughly tear bread and place in a blender or food processor. (I used my magic bullet, this recipe was too small to actually break out the food processor) Pulse until reduced to small pieces. (This was my second dilemma, how small is “small pieces”?)

 

This is what I considered "small pieces" hope it was small enough!

 

Add egg-apple mixture to the blender/food processor (or magic bullet) and pulse until just mixed. Do not over-blend. (I wasn’t sure what the consistency was supposed to be but I wanted to keep the integrity of the apple and didn’t pulse too long, at all!)

 

The scramble pre-cooked. See how you can still see the apple chunks?

 

Bring a skillet sprayed with nonstick spray to medium heat. Add mixture and prepare as you would scrambled eggs, stirring and cooking for about 5 minutes, until solid bits form and mixture is slightly browned. (Wasn’t really paying too much attention to how long I cooked it for, but it was probably longer than 5 minutes, it was kind of hard to tell when it was done as the texture never really changed.)

 

It's defiantly not a pretty dish. Kind of boring looking if you ask me. However the smells and the taste make up for the lack of color and 'blobbiness"

 

If you like add a few more dashes of cinnamon and/or salt. Enjoy!

The review: first, it says it takes 10 minutes prep and 5 minutes cook time. 15 minutes total. Uh, maybe I’m slow, but it took me about 30 minutes start to finish. A bit long for breakfast, I suggest preparing this the night before and cooking it in the morning. (In fact, I think that’s what I’m gonna do for tomorrow for the bf) It was super easy though, nothing too complicated and over whelming for a breakfast dish.

For creativity: I give this 5 stars. Combing apples with eggs is something I would have never thought to do! Adding fruit to breakfast in a creative way is always a plus for me! (I really do like fruit but find it a bit boring to eat just by itself and don’t actually do so on a regular basis, except for bananas, mmm…bananas)

Texture: a bit odd if you ask me. It had the same consistency as thanksgiving stuffing. I was slightly put off by that as I was expecting more of a scrambled egg with chunks of apple texture. It didn’t stop me from devouring the whole thing though, so it couldn’t be that odd right?

Taste: fantastic! As quoted from the recipe “Taste like scrambled french toast” and it really honestly did! The egg wasn’t overpowering, it blended well with the bread and made for a nice fluffy feel. I think if I tasted the egg and apples separately it would have been horrible. I could have used a bit more cinnamon, now I know! It wasn’t too sweet or salty. It really was a perfect breakfast!

Satisfaction: For 4 weight watcher points, it was good. Overly filling, no. Satisfying, yes. Was I still hungry after eating it, no. Am i hungry again now an hour later, kinda!

So, what do you think? Apples, eggs and bread? Weird? Genius? Are you gonna try it?

4 Comments

Filed under apples, breakfast

4 responses to “AM Apple Scramble

  1. Janet Androschuk

    Sounds weird, you’re right, apple and eggs? However, now that you mentioned the french toast, I can see where they are going with it! If you don’t have egg substitute (i hate spelling that word), do you think you could use a real egg?

  2. Janna Mendez

    oooh yumm yumm. sounds good.

  3. Janna Mendez

    I’m impressed with your site. you are savvy. Nice job with the pictures too.

Leave a Reply

