Shrimp & Grits……..For Hungry Chicks!

I know this recipe insinuates that this dish is just for Hungry Chicks, but let me tell ya: the Hungry Guy will love it too!

Now this may come as a shock to some people, (or not) but I’ve never had grits before! I think that’s why I was excited to try out this new dish! I love trying new foods, it’s always so exciting to have adventures in food (especially when it’s new)! I know grits are a southern thing, I know they can be fairly healthy or extremely unhealthy, depending on how they are prepared, but that’s all I know! I was a little worried about the healthiness of this because it’s suppose to be a Paula Deen swap. (I love Paula, but her food scares the hell out of me!) It is 8 weight watchers points, and that scares me too! This better be worth it, satisifying-ly filling, and the tastiest thing I’ve ever had!

THE RECIPE:

Shrimp & Grits……………..For Hungry Chicks!

PER SERVING: (1/2 the recipe) 380 calories, 8g fat, 900mg sodium, 40g carbs, 2.5g fiber, 1g sugar, 40g protein

INGREDIENTS:

1/2 cup quick-cooking grits

Dash salt

1/2 cup shredded fat-free cheddar cheese

1 tbls. light whipped butter or light buttery spread (I can’t believe it’s not butter light is always my choice)

1 wedge The Laughing Cow Light Original Swiss cheese

8 ounces raw shrimp, peeled, tails removed, deveined

1/2 cup thinly sliced scallions (white and green parts)

1 tbls. chopped fresh parsley (ugh, stupid store had a ton of cilantro but no parsley, lame!)

1 tsp. lemon juice

1/2 tsp. chopped garlic (I never measure garlic, I used one clove)

2 tbls. precooked real crumbled bacon (hell yea! BACON!)

Optional: hot sauce

DIRECTIONS:

In a medium pot, bring 2 cups water to a boil on the stove. Add grits and salt and stir well. Reduce heat to lowest setting. Stirring occasionally, cook until water has been absorbed, about 6 to 7 minutes. Remove from heat and stir in shredded cheese, butter, and cheese wedge, breaking cheese wedge into pieces as you add it. Cover and set aside until ready to serve.

GRITS! (This is exciting!)

Bring a skillet sprayed with nonstick spray to medium heat. Add shrimp and cook until opaque, about 3 minutes, flipping halfway through cooking. Add scallions, parsley, lemon juice and garlic. If you like, add a dash or two of hot sauce. Stir well and remove from heat.

Shrimp, onions and garlic!

Serve grits topped with shrimp and bacon. Eat up, y’all!

Makes 2 servings

I cannot wait to dig into this! Holy yum!

THE REVIEW:

My first bite reaction: O.M.G! This is so good!

Mike’s first bite reaction: I like it!

Satisfaction: As stated before, 8 weight watchers points! That’s a lot of points to be eaten in one sitting! 8! And so worth every one! I was stuffed after eating this! My taste buds were 110% satisfied as well! Oh my, I’m so glad I tried grits!

Difficulty: If you can follow directions, this was really easy! Very little to no prep work, super super easy!

Taste: Having never had grits, I wasn’t sure what to expect, but it had cheese, bacon and shrimp, I knew it was gonna be good! Wow! Cheese, just the right amount, not over powering but there in the background. The shrimp, reminded me of shrimp scampi! Grits, remind me of a cornmeal oatmeal! I am so in love with this dish! Mike even asked if I could make something like it for Thanksgiving! Oh, and bacon! I love bacon!

Texture: Creamy cheese, hearty shrimp and bacon and gritty grits. All that mixed together. It was weird but really good!

How do you like your grits?

Leave a comment

Filed under bacon, dinner, shrimp, southern dishes, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

