Good Chick Lollipops Part One

(Who else is currently singing in their head now?)

I’m having a slight dilemma with this next recipe. On the new Weight Watchers Points Plus program it puts a huge emphasis on eating more whole foods and less processed foods. I am all for this change and quite frankly really needed it! Not that I am unaware of the fact that I should/need to eat more fruits and veggies, and could have come to this conclusion on my own, but it was kind of a wake up call I guess you could say. I know I made some pretty silly decisions when it came to allocating my points. I own up to my stupidity. For example, if I wanted a quick 1 to 2 point snack, 9 out of 10 times I would reach 3 cups of air popped popcorn instead of an apple, or a  banana simply because they both held the same point value. I’m not proud of it, but it’s true. Now, since starting the new Points Plus program (3 days ago) 9 out of 10 times I have reached for that ZERO point apple/pear/grapes/bananas/frozen blueberries. I have eaten so many fruits and vegetables in these last few days, and I feel fan-frackin-tastic! I have so much more energy, feel less groggy mid-day, less hungry, and all together (for lack of a better cliché) like a million bucks!

This next recipe: Good Chick Lollipops are some tasty sounding chicken strips breaded with Funyun’s onion flavored rings and fat-free sour cream & onion potato chips. One of the main things I love about Hungry-Girl is that she is able to come up with tasty treats that make you feel like your cheating on your diet, but calorie wise, you’re not at all! This recipe is 5 weight watchers points plus points. I’m not sure how I feel about this. This is why I need some opinions. It’s loaded with processed crappiness, unnecessary sodium and fat, and pretty much too much junk that I am trying to steer away from. Plus, if I have to buy a bag of both of these kind of chips (and only use a handful of each) I will be tempted to eat the leftovers.

Something I love about Weight Watchers is that you can treat yourself to the occasional non-diet food, and still stay within plan. Eating real food is important to me! If I get a craving and don’t cure it, I go slightly insane and then go on stupid buck wild eating binges. This is why Weight Watchers works for me. I need that happy medium! I know that I can make this recipe without feeling guilty, but I also don’t know if I should risk the temptations. Now I feel like I”m just rambling. I’ll stop now.

What do you think? Please discuss!

Leave a comment

Filed under chicken, hungry girl, weight watchers

Leave a Reply

