Something Different: Smoothies!

I’m kind of veering off path here and not doing a cookbook recipe, however I think/know you all will like these recipes just as much even though they aren’t hand stamped by Hungry-Girl. They are hand stamped by Fat-Free Jacque though, so it makes it just as good, right? LOL! For those of you not on Weight Watchers and/or haven’t read up on the new Points Plus program all points values of fruit are ZERO! Yes, you read that right! Free/zero points to eat your fruit! Which has encouraged me in so many ways to make better choices like more smoothies instead of ice cream for dessert. I’ve been meaning to post these recipes for a while  now, and I’m finally doing it! I think sometimes I should open my own Smoothie shop, that’s how good these bad boys are! I’m truly addicted! Hopefully I can inspire you as well!

(Some of these  recipes I’ve made on the whim and don’t have exact amounts. I use a Magic Bullet blender, so they are all single serving portions, please feel free to double, triple and even quadruple these recipes to share with friends and family!)

ORANGE DREAMSICLE

Juice of 2 oranges (freeze juice in ice-cube trays for extra coldness)

4 ounces vanilla soy or almond milk (low-fat and unsweetened)

1/4 cup fat-free sugar-free cheesecake or vanilla pudding

6 frozen peach slices

2-3 packets of Splenda

-This one reminds me of an Orange Julius!

CARAMEL APPLE:

4 ounces frozen cinnamon apples*

4 ounces vanilla soy/almond milk (low-fat and unsweetened)

2 tbls. sugar-free caramel topping

-This is not a gigantic smoothie, but it’s so flavorful and filling you won’t need much!

(*peel, de-seed/core apple, slice up and sprinkle liberally with cinnamon. Place apples on baking sheet (single layer) and freeze for 3-4 hours. Can then transfer to either a Tupperware container or plastic bag for storage)

NEOPOLITAIN:

6 frozen strawberries

1/4 cup fat-free sugar-free cheesecake or vanilla pudding

4 ounces vanilla soy or almond milk (low-fat and unsweetened)

2 tbls. fat-free sugar-free chocolate pudding mix (dry mix, unprepared pudding)

-Can you say milkshake? (Without the milk or the ice cream!)

BLUEBERRY PIE:

1/4 cup frozen blueberries

1 ounce frozen cinnamon apples*

4 frozen peach slices

2 ounces blueberry yogurt

4 ounces vanilla soy or almond milk (low-fat and unsweetened)

4 tbls. cool whip free

2 packets of splenda

-This one by far is my favorite! It tastes like pie! Seriously!

PEANUT BUTTER COOKIE:

1 tbls. Almond butter (I make my own Almond butter with Splenda, feel free to ask for my recipe!)

4 ounces vanilla Almond milk (low-fat and unsweetened)

2 1/2 ounces ice (yes, it’s important to weight your ice, don’t want to water it down too much!)

3 packets of splenda

-Ironically this recipe has no peanuts or peanut butter. Ha! I’ve never actually tried it with peanut butter but I bet it would be just as good!

PINEAPPLE UPSIDE DOWN CAKE:

3/4 cup frozen pineapples

1/4 cup fat-free sugar-free butterscotch pudding

1/4 cup fat-free sugar-free vanilla pudding

4 ounces vanilla soy or almond milk (low-fat and unsweetened)

Dash of cinnamon

1/8 tsp. almond or cherry extract

1 tsp. brown sugar

Top with Cool Whip free if desired

-I made this one because the boyfriend requested it. I’m actually allergic to pineapple (Sad, I know) so I have no idea if it’s good or not, he said it was  “Freakin’ fantastic” so I’m guessing it’s pretty tasty!

SWEET TART:

1/4 cup frozen blueberries

1/4 cup frozen raspberries

1/4 cup frozen cranberries

6 ounces fat-free lemon yogurt

Pomegranate/Blueberry/Acai Berry Sparkling Water (I didn’t measure this, oops, put fruit and yogurt in blender/magic bullet. Pour just enough sparkling water to cover the fruit/yogurt.)

-Remember those fantastically sweet yet tart candies? Yea, this recipe tastes just like those!

NO NAME:

(I don’t have a clever name for this one, but it’s pretty tasty and kind of reminds me of the Acai Super Antioxidant from Jamba Juice)

1/4 cup frozen raspberries

1/4 cup frozen blueberries

1/4 cup frozen blackberries

1 cup of fat-free milk

3 “cap-fulls” sugar-free chocolate Torani syrup

Splash of Pomegranate/Blueberry/Acai berry Sparkling Water

-Wow, I didn’t realize until I typed these out that this is the first recipe I’ve done with regular milk and not soy or almond milk. Crazy!

I’m currently working on perfecting a Strawberry Rhubarb Pie smoothie and a Peanut Butter and Jelly Smoothie. Will keep everyone updated as soon as they are good enough to share!

Good luck and happy smoothie making!
(Sorry for the lack of pictures, I get too excited and start chugging away before I even think about snapping a photo! You understand right?)

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Something Different: Smoothies!

  1. Ya know, I am always so dang smoothie-boring. I stick to the same thing and never branch out. That orange’y one sounds extra good. I’m gonna branch out now. heeeee

Leave a Reply

