Three-Cheese-Bacon-Apple-Bella Frittata

If you look up the word Frittata on Wikipedia it basically says: a frittata is an egg based dish similar to an omelete or Quiche.  I like omelets, and even though I’ve never had a Quiche before, I know I would like it! If you’ve never had a frittata before I suggest trying out this recipe! With the holidays coming up and family possibly visiting from out-of-town, this would be a great breakfast or brunch to start out the day with!

THE RECIPE:

Three-Cheese-Bacon-Apple-Bella Frittata

PER SERVING (1/4 of the frittata): 157 calories, 3.25g fat, 506mg sodium, 12.5g carbs, 1.5g fiber, 6.5g sugar, 18.5g protein

INGREDIENTS:

1 1/2 cups fat-free liquid egg substitute

2 tbls. fat-free nondairy liquid creamer

2 slices 2% milk Swiss cheese, chopped (I could only find 2% milk Cheddar, so I decided on fat-free “white” cheese)

1/2 cup shredded fat-free cheddar cheese

2 slices center-cut or turkey bacon, chopped (I used turkey bacon, yum, turkey!)

1 cup chopped Portabella mushrooms

1 large apple, preferably Fuji, cored and finely chopped (I chose HoneyCrisp, it’s my fave!)

1 tbls. reduced-fat Parmesan-style grated topping

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat broiler.

In a medium bowl, combine egg substitute and creamer. Whisk together for 1 minute. (This step helps add volume to the eggs, I know it sounds like a useless step, but  it is important!)  Add Swiss cheese and cheddar cheese. Set aside.

Bring a large oven-safe skillet sprayed with nonstick spray to medium heat on the stove. Add bacon and mushrooms, and cook until bacon is slightly crispy and mushrooms have softened, about 3 to 5 minutes.

Beginning to smell good in my kitchen! Bacon and mushrooms, oh my!

Add apple and continue to cook until softened, about 1 minutes. (Just like in the AM Apple Scramble recipe, eggs and apple sound so bizarre together, hmmm….will this one work out well too?)

I hope my "finely chopped" apples are small enough!

Pour egg mixture into the skillet, and tilt the skillet back and forth to ensure egg mixture is evenly distributed. Make sure cheese is evenly distributed (This was not an easy task!) , as well, if needed, run a spatula along the sides of the skillet to help the egg flow underneath the bacon, mushrooms, and apple. Cook for 2 minutes, and then remove from heat.

The frittata before the broiler. See how I didn't move the cheese around very well, it was hard damn it!

Sprinkle grated topping evenly over the frittata. Place under the broiler for about 4 minutes, until the egg mixture has puffed up  and the mixture is set.

Tried to capture the height of the egg, can you tell that its puffy?

How bout now?

Allow to cool, and then cut into quarters. (Frittata may look runny, but it’s just all the cheese oozing out) Enjoy!

Sliced like a pizza, and resembling an omelete. Oh yeah, I'm excited!

Makes 4 servings.

THE REVIEW:

My first bite reaction: Appley! Sweet and salty, weird, good!

Mike was at work, I ate this alone! Let’s hope the left-overs are good! 🙂

Satisfaction: I am NOT a morning person at all! I don’t actually like eating right after waking up, but I force myself to do so and am rewarded by not devouring an entire box of donuts 3 hours after waking since by now I’m a starving mo-fo! I usually will pop a VitaTop into the oven, pour and drink a cup of coffee and by the time the coffee is coursing through my veins my VitaTop is ready to eat. (About 10 minutes). This recipe took me over an hour to make! (I’m really slow in the kitchen first thing in the morning, ok I’m really slow doing everything first thing in the morning.) I was so hungry I wanted to eat the whole thing! (Plus I burned more calories standing and moving in the kitchen than I would have with my usual sitting on my arse reading Facebook/twitter/google reader). This being 3 weight watchers points I should have been 100% satisfied! Instead, I was still hungry and wanted more! Instead I drank a huge glass of water and more coffee. Needless to say, if you are not a morning person I suggest making this the night before and re-heating it when you wake up!

Taste: In all honesty the apple was too overpowering and the cheese and bacon took a part way too far back in the background. Overall it was good, but some of the ingredients/calories I could have dealt without, seeing as how I couldn’t taste them! Would I make this again, yes! But I would only use half an apple and make sure the cheese was better distributed!

Creativity: I give this a big A+! The combo of all the ingredients for only 3 weight watchers points, hell yes! It’s a great breakfast for those who are sick of the same old same old boring breakfast!

Texture: The apple was too crunchy still, other than that, it was great! I wanted more cheese though, give me give me give me!

What do you eat first thing in the morning?

Leave a comment

Filed under apples, bacon, breakfast

Leave a comment